New Dave Matthews Band album Walk Around the Moon due May 19

Dave Matthews Band’s 10th studio album, Walk Around the Moon, comes out May 19. Lead single “Madman’s Eyes” is now available on all major streaming platforms.

The announcement of the new Dave Matthews Band album came today, along with the release of 2023 tour dates. The tour begins May 9 with a three-show run in Mexico before the U.S. leg kicks off May 19 with a concert at The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion in The Woodlands, Texas.

The new DMB album contains 12 songs, including seven the band has previously played in concert. Most of the songs were produced by Rob Evans, who has worked as a mixer and engineer for DMB since 2003. John Alagia, a longtime collaborator with the band, serves as executive producer.

Walk Around the Moon is the first new DMB album since 2018’s Come Tomorrow, which was the band’s seventh consecutive album to debut at No. 1 on the Billboard 200 chart. It will be available in the following formats:

  • digital download
  • CD
  • black vinyl
  • limited edition lavender vinyl
  • limited edition 180-gram black vinyl with exclusive photo book
  • limited edition white vinyl (available first for Warehouse members)

Walk Around the Moon is now available for pre-order.

dave matthews band new album pre-order banner

Walk Around the Moon track listing

  1. Walk Around the Moon
  2. Madman’s Eyes
  3. Looking for a Vein
  4. The Ocean and the Butterfly
  5. It Could Happen
  6. Something to Tell My Baby
  7. After Everything
  8. All You Ever Wanted Was Tomorrow
  9. The Only Thing
  10. Break Free
  11. Monsters
  12. Singing From the Windows

“Break Free” is the oldest known song on the new DMB album, having made its live debut in 2006. The band previously worked on the song in the studio with producer Mark Baston during the abandoned sessions for the follow-up to 2005’s Stand Up.

When asked on Twitter about his involvement in producing “Break Free,” Batson replied: “I prefer to wait for the band to make their presentations!!! They work so hard and deserve to control all aspects of their rollout. I’m just another excited fan!!!”

“Singing from the Windows” and “The Ocean and the Butterfly” were first performed in 2020. DMB debuted “Walk Around the Moon,” “Madman’s Eyes” and “The Only Thing” during its 2021 tour, followed by “Something to Tell My Baby” in 2022.

The other songs are all new to fans.

Walk Around the Moon album cover

Here’s the cover art for the new Dave Matthews Band album:

dave matthews band walk around the moon album cover

Check out all of DMB’s album covers.

New DMB song Madman’s Eyes

Dave Matthews Band debuted “Madman’s Eyes” during its Fall 2021 tour and has played the new song 46 times since then. It was the band’s most-played song in concert for 2022.

DMB teased the release of “Madman’s Eyes” last week with this video, which features the song’s instrumental intro:

Listen to the Walk Around the Moon studio version of “Madman’s Eyes” here:

Dave Matthews Band 2023 tour dates

DMB will support its new album on the 2023 tour, which includes 44 stops, beginning May 9 in Mexico City and ending with the traditional Labor Day Weekend three-night stand at the Gorge Amphitheatre in George, Washington.

Check out the complete list of Dave Matthews Band 2023 tour dates.